Friday, February 24, 2017

DESIGN TEAM CALL

It's time for a Lost Coast Designs Design Team Call!


We are looking for some new LCDesigners & one special LCDesigner Leader to join our fabulous Lost Coast Designs - Carmen’s Veranda team!  We are a relaxed but energetic friendly bunch and would love to welcome some fun-loving stampers with positive, professional, no-drama attitudes, who love working with eclectic and quirky rubber stamps, to join us.  This is an open call and successful applicants will be notified as I select new members.   We are looking for North America and Europe based stampers only.  Please note that there are some limitations for Europe based members which I will discuss with you. 

DT term is one year but a 6 months option is available too so please specify which option you are interested in.

Please read over our DT Requirements carefully and consider your current obligations before applying.  Joining a DT is fun and a way for you to share your love of creating but it is also a commitment and you are expected to do your best for our team regardless of how many other teams you serve on so make sure you fully understand what being a LCDesigner entails and feel free to ask questions if you need anything clarified. 

If you think our team is right for you then we’d love for you to apply by emailing Marilyn (LCD/CV Interim DT Leader) at mcgoo4@gmail.com.   Please put “LCDesigner Application” in the subject of your email and provide the following information.  Thank you for your consideration and we look forward to meeting you all! 
  • Name, address, phone number (best number to contact you on if needed) and email address.
  • 1 year or 6 month DT term.
  • Short biography - tell us a little about yourself and why you would like to join our DT
  • Links to your online galleries, blogs, Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest, etc.
  • List any Design Teams you are currently on and have previously been on.  Please note that past DT experience is not necessary, all are welcome to apply.  
  • Include 3-5 project photos that best shows your style and quality of work (please try and keep file sizes small).
DESIGN TEAM PERKS
  • Access to a generous selection of quality rubber stamps from Lost Coast Designs and Carmen’s Veranda at no charge. 
  • Access to Nuance Powders which are available to you at wholesale cost - use of these powders is encouraged but not a DT requirement.
  • Your paper art projects proudly displayed at stamp conventions in the USA and Europe.
  • Exposure on our Lost Coaster’s Review DT blog, Lost Coast Portal to Creativity event and challenge blog, Lost Coast Designs & Carmen’s Veranda company Facebook Pages and our LCD/CV Facebook Fan Group.
  • You will be featured on our Meet the DT Blog Page with a bio and an optional photo.
  • You get to create with and be inspired by a group of very talented stampers and participate in lots of fun events.
DT REQUIRMENTS
  • Work with all our stamp images regardless of personal tastes and preferences.
  • Be a good communicator, reliable, dedicated & on time with deadlines and able to work with themes in a team environment. 
  • Be able to take good photographs to showcase your art well.
  • Have an active personal blog to share your creations.
  • Display 4-5 badges (4 permanent, 1 temporary) on your personal blogs to promote LCD/CV and our various activities.  
  • Actively promote our stamps and activities on your personal blog, Facebook, Twitter or Pinterest, etc, as much as possible.
  • Be an active member of our official LCD/CV Facebook Fan group as well as belong to our private DT group. 
  • Be willing to host a challenge or 2 on our Facebook Fan group and participate in various events like blog hops, etc.
  • Share one project per month on our Lost Coaster’s Review DT blog on assigned dates - posts are to be engaging, written in English, easy to follow with info on what was made and how it was done, either as a brief summary or in tutorial form. 
  • You will be on Blog Challenge Duty, as part of one of our 2 teams, every second month which involves creating an inspiration project, commenting on the entries and voting for the winners.  
  • You are free to make whatever projects inspire you from cards, ATCs to altered and mixed media art.
  • However, you are required to mail in some none bulky paper art projects to Lost Coast Designs for display at our convention booths across the USA and Europe.  There are no deadlines or quantity limits for this part of your DT commitment.
PROJECT REQUIREMENTS
A minimum of 24 projects per one year term (2 per month) with the option to make more and a minimum of 2 extra projects for the 31 Days of Halloween blog hop broken down as follows: 
  • A minimum of 6 projects per year for our monthly Blog Challenges.
  • A minimum of 14 projects per year to be divided equally between our Blog events and Facebook group events.
  • Make a minimum of 2 projects for an annual Halloween blog hop/event in October (participation for 2017 will be determined later this year).
  • Mail in paper art projects to Lost Coast Designs for display at convention booths in the USA and Europe! 
Happy Stamping!
Marilyn
Interim LCD/CV DT Leader

Thursday, February 23, 2017

February Is For Lovers: Or, When I Am King You Shall Be Queen

Hello stamplings! Today for your creative delectation I'm going to walk you through the piece I made for our Lovers event, "When I Am King." (You have two more days to enter your lovers-themed art --until midnight, February 25th--for your chance to win cool stuff! Click on the link in this paragraph and find out the deets if you haven't already entered!)

Do you guys know the children's rhyme "Lavender's blue, dilly dilly"? I took it as my inspiration as I was looking at our fab king and queen chess pieces from the Chess Set. You know how some men will promise you anything, right? LOL So here's our lovable braggart king making you his queen.



Here's how I did it.

Using permanent (waterproof) ink, stamp the awesome king and queen onto hot-press (for a smooth surface) watercolor paper. Stamp and cut masks for the figures, and place the masks over the stamped images.

Sprinkle blue, purple, and gray Nuance powders liberally about! At this point, your piece will look approximately like this:


Now go town and mist the powders with water to your heart's content. Watch the magic happen as they bloom and blend! I like to leave them a little dry in spots for texture, but you're the boss here.

I next used a checkerboard stencil to suggest a chess board, and spritzed some more color through the stencil. (Did you know that you can use the Nuance Powders to make your own sprays? Yep--just put a bit in a mister, add water, and you're good to go!)

Let dry, and stamp "king" and "queen" with the Old Typewriter Alphabet, and emboss with silver EP. I outlined the letters in black artist pen to help them stand out, which also has the advantage of giving the letters more of a funky, arty, handmade look. The other text was computer-generated and collaged on.

With the masks still in place, drizzle and splotch some white and silver acrylic paint to bring light to some of the dark areas and add a little dimension to the piece.

When dry, remove the masks, and paint the figures with pale washes of lavender, blue, and purple. Accent the figures with sparkly silver glitter gel pen to further catch the light. Edge the piece with lavender chalk ink.


You are done! Admire the fruits of your labor...and maybe go give the king a kiss for elevating you to royal status!



Tuesday, February 21, 2017

Hugs and Kisses

Good morning friends.  Today I'm sharing the step-by-step process for my Hugs & Kisses journal spread I created for the February Challenge over at Lost Coast Portal to Creativity.

1)  Tear strips out of old book pages and glue them to the bottom half of each side.  Gesso.
2)  Spray LSG Peony Scarlet Red, Autumn Maple Crimson, and Opal Sea Oats all over the pages.
3)  Add texture using the TH Doily stencil and glossy transparent text paste.
4)  Stencil TH Mini Countdown with Versamark ink and embloss with black EP.
5)  Stamp CV Klimt Kiss on mixed media paper with Versamark ink and emboss with black EP.  Color with markers and cut out.
6)  Add a die cut Hugs and Kisses to the left side of the page and Klimt Kiss to the right.
7)  Scatter die cut hearts across both pages and use a brown Pitt pen to add highlights.
8)  Splatter spread with LSU Luminous Lemon, Luscious Lime, Midnight Rendezvous Raven, & gesso mixed with water.

Thank you for joining me today.  Stay tuned for more step-by-steps from me and others on the LCD team.  Oh, don't forget, you still have a few days to get your entry in for the February Challenge.  Click HERE for all the details and the Linky.

Until later................
Smiles~
Marilyn (aka Tarnished Rose)

Friday, February 17, 2017

Be Mine

Good morning lovelies.  I hope you had a wonderful Valentine's Day.  I know I did.  Continuing in that vein I wanted to share a quick Valentine's ATC with you.  It really and truly can be for any time of the year, if you want someone to know how very dear they are to you.

I started out by trimming a red piece of cardstock to ATC size.  I stenciled on hearts using Adirondack Raisin and them stamped Cat Quotes randomly with SU Cherry Cobbler.  Next came some rub-ons from 7 Gypsies.  I stamped Be Mine with SU Cherry Cobbler and then fussy cut out, separating the Be Mine sentiment from the rest of the stamp (two stamps in one! gotta love it).  I added that to the center of my ATC, keeping the main image slightly below center (rule of 1/3).  I then used Cranberry Stickles and Frosted Lace Stickles to add dots of color all over the ATC.  Done!

Thank you for stopping by today.  Check in a little later this week for more step-by-steps from me and other members of the LCD team.

Until later.................
Smiles~
Marilyn (aka Tarnished Rose)

Wednesday, February 15, 2017

Another New Release from Lost Coast Designs!

It's Nan again with a fabulous full Small Skeleton that is being reminded by his skull friend that with those wonderful wings he need not walk!  How happy this made my skellie friend, hence his party hat!  I hope you have enjoyed seeing the new releases from both Lost Coast Designs and Carmen's Veranda's Stamps as much as I am enjoying playing with them!  Such fun and with the fantastic events we have been and are having, it is just that much more fun!  I hope you have entered our Steampunk Queen of Hearts Event; make sure you visit the The Lost Coast Portal to Creativity   to see our last amazing project from one of the design team today!



The Small Skeleton's helpful wings and fun party hat are from the Doll Accessories set which is full of fun things!  The Persian Skull that is helping out our pal with some advice comes from Lost Coast Designs, too, along with the Old Typewriter Alphabet set for the word "fly".  The smaller words set I picked up in Japan and it is very interestingly made.  

Please check out our monthly challenge "Lovers" HERE and of course, all of our event information and all the details of all we have going on visit The Lost Coast Portal to Creativity !

 And

Saturday, February 11, 2017

A Promise of Amore!

Hi, it's Nan with you today and a little brave Matador Monkey!  He is a new release at Carmen's Veranda Stamps and I just love him!  And as Valentine's Day quickly approaches, he is promising his everlasting love to someone.  He seems very determined about it, too!


Hope you have enjoyed this little guy like I have and hop on over to Carmen's Veranda and see all the odd, quirky stamps that are offered there!  There is a showing from Lost Coast Designs Stamps in the word "Promise"  from the Mis. Words Set

As you know, but just so you can't say you didn't :) the The Lost Coast Portal to Creativity     is where it is all happening all the time!  An event starting up today!  The Steampunk Queen event!  Check out the Portal for Leigh's lovely offer and get all the details!  Our monthly challenge is "Lovers" so make sure you play there also!  The more you play the more stamps you can earn!

 And

Friday, February 10, 2017

"Steampunk Queen of Hearts" Mad Hatter's Top Hat

Happy Friday Lost Coasters!
We're going down the rabbit hole on another adventure into Wonderland over at Lost Coast Portal to Creativity and this time we've found ourselves in the realm of Steampunk ruled by the Queen of Hearts!
Mattel's Ever After High Lizzie Hearts doll
Buckle up coz things are getting steamy as we countdown to Valentine's Day with daily LCDesigner project shares!  Come and join the adventure and link up your own Steampunk Wonderland creations in the linky HERE!  You have until midnight PST on February 24th so play with us for the chance to win some LCD/CV rubber!
Join Us for another Wonderland adventure! 
I'm a huge Alice in Wonderland fan so of course I have the Ever After High Wonderland character dolls in my collection.  For my project I made Lizzie Hearts an oversized Mad Hatter's top hat!
 I designed and created the top hat from scratch using red cardstock that I'd embossed with a large embossing folder (Regency Crafter's Companion) and enhanced the design with Black Soot Distress ink.  I then happily decorated it with lots of fun embellishments and stamped elements.

I altered a 9 of Hearts playing card and stamped it with Lost Coast Designs large Gears background in Galaxy Gold Brilliance ink and embossed with gold and silver embossing powders.  I distressed the edges of the large playing card and the mini Queen of Hearts playing card with Tim's paper distresser tool and applied Black Soot Distress ink to the edges.  I stamped Lost Coast Designs Queen of Hearts with Tuxedo Black Memento ink onto Neenah Solar White cardstock, coloured her with Copics and a metallic gold gel pen and fussy cut her out.  I also stamped up the leaves from Lost Coast Designs large Rose in Galaxy Gold Brilliance ink, embossed with a combo of gold and silver EP and fussy cut them out.  I then painted the leaves with Grass Green and Jade Nuance Powders.  I also stamped up a few card suites and hearts using Lost Coast Designs Heart Diamond Spade Club Border and Hearts and Curls Border in Galaxy Gold, embossed with gold EP and fussy cut them out too.  Next I cut out various greenery from black cardstock using Tim Holtz Garden Greens dies and applied metallic silver and gold rub-on cremes to the pieces.  I embellished my top hat with black tulle, red and white paper roses and assorted brass gears.

Here's a closer look at all the details!
Thanks for stopping by to see my project today!
Have a great weekend!
Leigh S-B
THE SHARPIE DOMINO QUEEN
LCD/CV DT Manager

Monday, February 6, 2017

The Promise - a Valentine's Day card

Happy Monday Lost Coasters!
Valentine's Day is just around the corner and our February Challenge, #33, over at Lost Coast Portal to Creativity is dedicated to "Lovers"!  Here's my LCDesigner challenge project to inspire you to come and join the fun!


Some find making Valentine's Day cards suitable for the guys a challenge so I stayed away from the traditional lovey dovey red and white in favour of a more masculine palette and used black, white and grey decorative papers for this project which features Gustav Klimt's "The Kiss" by Carmen's Veranda.


I started out by stamping Carmen's Veranda Klimt Kiss and the text from Lost Coast Designs Misc. Words set onto mixed media cardstock with Tuxedo Black Memento Ink.  I then coloured the image with Copic markers and added metallic touches to the fabrics and the vines with gold, silver and copper gel pens and metallic green Promarker.  I used Black Soot and Walnut Distress Crayons to create the watercoloured background and then die cut out the image and the matching black mat with Spellbinders mega rectangle Deckled dies.   I cut text boxers using scissors and the "is" and "a" were cut from other words in the Misc Words set as well.  Before adhering the stamped image and text to their black mats I applied metallic silver rub-on creme to all the edges and then used scissors to cut the matching deckle edges on the text mats.  I then cut and assembled all the DCWV decorative paper panels and adhered everything to the folded card I made from black cardstock with Scotch Quick Dry adhesive and pop dots.  I completed my card with self-adhesive black diamonds in 2 sizes.

 
 I used the following supplies on this one:
 Carmen's Veranda Klimt Kiss
Lost Coast Designs Misc. Words set
Mixed media cardstock
Black cardstock for the mats and folded card
Tuxedo Black Memento Ink
Copics
Metallic gold, silver and copper gel pens
Metallic Green Promarker
Black Soot and Walnut Distress Crayons
Spellbinders mega Deckled rectangle dies
Silver rub-on creme
DCWV decorative papers
Self adhesive black diamonds
Pop dots and Scotch Quick Dry Adhesive

Thanks for stopping by to see my project today!
Happy Stamping!

Leigh S-B
THE SHARPIE DOMINO QUEEN

Wednesday, February 1, 2017

FEBRUARY NEWSLETTER!

Hello Lost Coasters!
We have lots of news to share but first a big THANK YOU to everyone who played in our 2nd annual Edgar Allan Poe Appreciation Day Blog Hop!  Lots of POE-tastic projects were shared and the winner will be announced soon over at Lost Coast Portal to Creativity!  Don't forget to mark your calendars and return January 2018 for our 3rd Poe Hop!

Did you see the new stamps we released in January?  Click on each promo below to see the stamps in action and click Lost Coast Designs and Carmen's Veranda to go so them in our stores!
http://lostcoastportaltocreativity.blogspot.com/2017/01/poe-appreciation-day-blog-hop-2017-and.html?m=1
http://lostcoastportaltocreativity.blogspot.co.uk/2017/01/oddities-new-stamp-release.html?m=1
 
THANK YOU to those who played in our Alice in Winterland adventure as well, your Winterland creations are breath taking.  Sadly there were not enough entries to award our LCD/CV Bucks prize but one winner will receive our exclusive Winterland Winner's badge for you to proudly display on your blog.  Hopefully our next Wonderland adventure will be more to your liking😉

 Did you know?
Our Events and Challenges are open to ALL rubber stamp companies and if you use any Lost Coast Designs or Carmen's Veranda stamps your entry counts as TWO and doubles your chances of winning!  Follow Lost Coast Portal to Creativity and never miss our activities again! 

Our Prizes!
Our prizes are based on the amount of entries we receive so the more you enter the higher the prize!
Gather all your friends and come and join the fun!

 FEBRUARY'S ACTIVITIES!


 We're kicking off our fun activities with our monthly Challenge for February.  Stop by LCPtoC from February 6th to Feb 25th and play!

 Then we are continuing our adventure into Wonderland where Hearts, Gears and Cogs abound!  It is Curiouser and Curiouser to say the least and you will be mad if you don't join us at Lost Coast Portal to Creativity on February 11th to see what our talented LCDesigners are sharing as we countdown to Valentine's Day!

Join us this month and be in the running to win LCD/CV rubber stamps!
 
Last but not least I'm excited to let you know that Linda and I are busy working on some top secret stuff over at Lost Coast Designs and have fabulous new things in the works for this year starting with something that is all the rage and will be launched this month!  Of course we will have something special for you just for the launch!  Stay tuned😃

Fun times ahead over at Lost Coast Portal to Creativity so pop on over and Stay to Play😃

Happy Stamping!
Leigh S-B
The Sharpie Domino Queen

Sunday, January 29, 2017

Beauties on Tags

Hi all! It's Nan with two tags today.  Now why are there two and not three tags as I intended?  Well, much to my shame I had all three tags stuck into a book so that they would dry flat and the book ate one of the tags!  Yes, ate it!  I went through that book 8 times no sign of it...gremlins again?  But I did get my two beauties on tags even with the drama!


The first thing I did was stamp the DT with the stamp Birds in Tree in purple Distress Ink then I  stamped two of the Gibson Girl's Faces from the set in different Distress Inks on kraft paper I bought in Japan which is very thin almost like tissue paper. I inked the tags after gluing some DP torn and inked edges onto the tags.  I used honeycomb stamp from the Lattice ATC Stamp set in purple on different spots and the Cherry Tree stamp from the ATC Misc. 2 Set.

So I hope you enjoyed my Gibson Girl tags today and also hope that you will check out the Lost Coast Portal to Creativity for all challenges, events, and Designer Reviews!

 And
please like our Facebook pages